Sunday, May 8, 2011

The Inheritance: And Other Stories-Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm

The Inheritance: And Other Stories
Robin Hobb and Megan Lindholm
Harper Voyager, May 3 2011, $15.99
ISBN: 9780061561641

This ten story collection showcases how talented Margaret Lindholm is as both her pseudonyms have published super shots and novels. The introduction will fascinate fans of “both” writers as to how the two names and their distinct styles came into being. Part I focuses on the Lindholm persona with seven modern day profound science fiction and fantasy tales that place people in subtly extraordinary situations; five of them previously published between 1989 and 1993 all worth making the “Cut”. These also include two award finalists (“A Touch of Lavender” and “Silver Lady and the Fortyish Man”) and two new shorts (“Finis” and “Drum Machine”). Part II provides three Robin Hobb medieval-like fantasies with two previously published (the novella “Homecoming” and the title tale “The Inheritance” both in the Realm of the Elderlings). The final contribution “Cat’s Meat” is a new story.

All ten entries are well written and affirm why Margaret Lindholm as Megan Lindholm and as Robin Hobbs is critically acclaimed. Part of the fun is to compare the writing styles to see if the reader can draw the conclusion that Duane Wilkins did. Though I still fail to see what he saw except that in each contribution regardless of size the star(s) are fully developed and that in either persona this winning anthology affirms the talent of Ms. Lindholm.

Harriet Klausner

No comments: